Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2007

Are clipless pedals supposed to be this hard to get used to??

Nob
    Last edited by JimS_99; 07-01-2007 at 11:26 AM.

mtbr member
    I was in the same boat as you. I had shimano pd520 pedals and the cleats that came with the bike. It was very difficult to detach to the point where I had plenty of low speed crashes. I switched my cleats to multi-release (sh-56 I believe) and it's a world of difference. I love them.

I don't know about the crank bros as much, but I heard that if you swap the cleats from shoe to shoe, it changes the release angle...

Loser

Practice

I have been riding clipless for many years, I have never ridden Crank Bros pedals. From what I can see there's no way to adjust the tension on those pedals, so that could pose a bit of a problem. The SPD (Shimano) style pedals have the ability to adjust the tension on them. So when you first put them on your bike you can set them very loose so its easy to get your feet out.

With any clipless pedals you need to practice until the point where twisting your feet becomes second nature. I would suggest finding someplace (maybe your basement?) where you can hold yourself up overhead, then practice getting in and out of your pedals. When you get out in the woods, I would definitely think ahead and pull one foot out before something serious comes up.

You may want to consider buying some cheap SPDs, just to practice with until you get used to it.

John
    Big Strings, Big Wheels, The Jisch Blog

Off the back...
    Bikeforums cross-post! Practice! Go ride around in a grassy field at low speed and try and wait until the last possible second to clip out. Don't do what I did, which is try to learn how to use them in a race. In the rain. I still have scars...

mtbr member
    Aug 2004