Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Chilcotin vs. Rune

last year, i purchased my first full suspension bike, a transition bottle rocket. i wanted a bike that was burly, could take dhing in a bike park and could be ridden on the trails. unfortunately, the br is too small for me, the seat tube does is not high enough with a 400mm seat post fully extended. it does not go that fast for me on the trails, but it is great at going down. i do have a heavy build which is great at a bike park. i think this bike is way above my skill level since i don't really know how to jump that well.

i am 6'2" with about a 36 inseam and long arms. i have been riding an xl 29er xc hard tail for the last 3 years. i want a bike that i can get better with while i learn how to jump and do things that i can't do with the hard tail.

i have been reading the various posts about 4 bikes and think i have settled on these 2. both have adjustable geometry, but it seems like the rune takes 27 wheels easier. i want to sell the br as a frame, fork, cockpit and keep the drivetrain and wheels.

it seems like the chili is a burlier bike and that is what i want. i am not concerned with weight because i want something that will last.

i can test ride a chili but am unsure about the rune.

some questions:
    1. is anyone in the philly, pa area willing to let me ride their rune?
    2. are there any banshee dealers on the east coast?
    3. i would like a bigger shock than the standard rp 23 or ctd, do any of you find the ccdb complicated? i am not a tinkerer. i like set and forget.
    4. does anyone have a chili with a 27 wheel set? i have a 26 wheel set built dh and was wondering if i could eventually get a 27 in the future to make a better trail bike.

an sc nomad may be considered, but i am unsure of its dh ability.

thanks for reading this long post.
    2010 EWR OWB 29er
    2012 Transition Bottlerocket

mtbr member
    May 2004
    3. CCDB can be set & forget.