undercover brother

New question here. Chain guide for 1st generation TransAM

I've been running singlespeed on my 2009 transam for some time now. Now that I this has become my only true mountain bike, I want to switch between geared and SS. What BB mounted chain guide (frame does not have ISCG tabs) will work with my shimano M660 SLX triple crankset? I'll be running 1x10.

Picture Unrelated
    Quote Originally Posted by tangaroo View Post
    I've been running singlespeed on my 2009 transam for some time now. Now that I this has become my only true mountain bike, I want to switch between geared and SS. What BB mounted chain guide (frame does not have ISCG tabs) will work with my shimano M660 SLX triple crankset? I'll be running 1x10.
    I suspect you can run nearly any guide if you use a BB mounted ISCG adapter. I've been using the E13 adapter for something like 8 years now with no issues. Just make sure that the crank and BB can accept an e-type front derailleur and you're good to go.

Now I will say that if you're planning on using a BB mounted chainguide as a chain tensioner for your SS aspirations, you'll probably be a bit disappointed. I never found that my guide was able to hold sufficient tension for even moderate riding, I would certainly not trust one to cranking up a hill. But I can't remember if that gen TranAM had horizontal dropouts on it or not. If it does then you would want to adjust the chainguide so that it doesn't provide any tension on the low chain in SS mode because it's bound to slip and loosen on you.
    Don't you hate it when a sentence doesn't end the way you think it octopus?

undercover brother
    Quote Originally Posted by zebrahum View Post
    I suspect you can run nearly any guide if you use a BB mounted ISCG adapter. I've been using the E13 adapter for something like 8 years now with no issues. Just make sure that the crank and BB can accept an e-type front derailleur and you're good to go.