mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Casco Viper - I'm impressed!

I picked up a new Casco Viper this weekend. I've been using a Giro Switchblade for a few years now and I found the Viper on liquidation in a store at a price I could not pass on. Now, I'm a big fan of those "hybrid" helmets and I have to admit the Viper impressed me quite a bit more in person then on picture.

- Comfort wise, the adjustment mechanism is great, you put it on, turn a small wheel in the back and it tightens to your head size, no messing around with adding or removing pads. There is a net which sits on your head so the helmet structure does not touch your hair.

- The chin guard "seems/feels" quite a bit more solid then my old Switchblade. There is a pretty thick amount of this gray foam, unlike on the Switchblade which relies mostly on a plastic molding.

- On the mechanism to insert and remove the chin guard I'm so so! It's a very quick snap on type which is great to install and remove while on the trail unlike the Switchblade which uses 6 small hex screws. On the other hand, the plastic part that you push to snap it in place is a bit flimsy, I can see that you have to be careful with it.

In conclusion, I find that this hybrid helmet is a really good compromise for all mountain riding. No wonder it won several "awards" according to the Casco web site. They rate it as a DH and XC helmet, I think that is way exaggerated, however I will not hesitate to wear on some "light" DH days. I like to do a lift assist day once in a while. I'm old so I don't go fast, I think this helmet is going to provide me with a bit better protection then what the Switchblade was giving me.

Here is some info from the Casco web site, you have to click on Viper MX

http://www.casco-helme.de/en/default01.htm

I'll try to take some pics of the Viper vs Switchblade later this week and add them here.

Cheers.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004