mtbr member
    May 2015

New question here. Buying a used SC Bronson

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to mountain biking and need some advice on a more serious purchase. I bought a Charge hardtail 6mo ago and has been a blast for most of the rides. Right now I'm ready to switch up my ride to an 650B AM bike. I was looking at Trek Remedy, Specialized Enduro, SC Heckler, Intense Carbine and finally the Bronson. I really wanted to get the Heckler as it was closer to my budget but none of the stores around San Diego seem to carry them. They did carry the 2015 Bronson C which had the same geo and felt pretty good but it was closer to 4k out the door. I found a used 2015 XL Bronson C R kit for 3k on Craigslist and was wondering if that is still a good deal for this bike and also how important is getting the receipt from the previous rider? Warranty purposes.

For tall riders, I'm 6'2" and most of the bikes seem kind of small from the stem to my face but not really the leg part. Should I make sure I get XL size or a different stem on a large? Also, when testing bikes out at the stores, I was getting the notion that some manufacture are getting the XL riders to be on a 29er? My hardtail is a 29er but for more aggressive riding I'm not that comfortable being higher up I guess.

Thanks for any feedback.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    So you won't get a warranty whether you get the receipt or not, as the warrenty is only for the original owner.

here is a copy of the warranty from santa cruz's webite. Buying used is a good way to get a good bike for cheaper than new but there is some expected risk to be had.

Five Year Frame Warranty

Santa Cruz Bicycles will repair or replace at its option any frame it determines to be defective. The warranty will be in effect for five years from the date of sale and applies to the original owner. This warranty does not cover custom finishes.

Lifetime Bearing Warranty