mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Buy new used 2013 Reign 0 or new 27.5 offerings but at lowest spec?

I'm in the market for my first full suspension bike, and most of the guys I started to ride with have All Mountain bikes, so that's what I'm shopping for.
    I ran across a hardly used 2013 Reign 0 for $3000, and I'm kinda gravitated towards it because of the Maestro suspension and how it climbs well. I'm not the fittest and I have little experience in mtb so I thought the Maestro's attributes(from what i read) would benefit someone like me. That and it's already spec'd with high grade components so I don't have to worry about upgrading later.
    But then I am also kinda interested in the new 2014 27.5 offerings from Trek and Giant, but if I do go that route I would have to resort to the lowest spec models at $3500+ because of my budget.

Also, at my height of 5'6", would the 26" Reign be a better fit, or not?

What route would you recommend I go?

Thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    I say demo the bikes and go for what feels good. I passed on 27.5 frame for a 26'er due to a killer deal and I have no regrets.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    Yeah, don't go a 27.5. Just don't.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Be aware a barely used Reign 0 will still have no warranty.

mtbr member
    I have a Reign 2 that is closer to a Reign 1 now and couldn't be happier. l am also your size if that makes a difference. $ 3000 may be a good price but I would benchmark against end of summer sales at your LBS since the 2014 models are being rolled out.
    Last edited by tiltedworld; 09-13-2013 at 03:07 PM.

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    If you're set on a reign check out Jenson USA. The reign 1 is about $2800 and will come with a waranty

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jk025 View Post
    If you're set on a reign check out Jenson USA. The reign 1 is about $2800 and will come with a waranty