Thread: Burping Tire

I like bikes

Burping Tire

Hey everyone. I keep having trouble with my tubeless set-up on my RM Slayer. I am running Maxxis Ardents tubeless. My rims were tubeless ready, but not UST.
    I ran them tubeless last year, but didn't get to ride the bike much after doing so. Anyway, I have lost the bead twice while out riding. Both time was on a 4' drop to
    flat...which I landed heavy on. The second time was at the bottom of a steep hill and the lateral force from me adjusting my direction at the bottom of a G-out to hit
    a step-up on the other side, "Popped" the bead like a gun going off!!!

Am I asking too much from my tubeless set-up? Would a wire-bead vs. Foldable prevent this? It is my first time trying it. I like the feel on single-track, the Zero pinch
    flat factor, but the bigger hits are making me question wether or not I should even run tubeless in the rear. Thoughts?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    What pressure are your tires at? You could be a little under-inflated or that particular tie & rim just may not work well together.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    What pressures are you rubbing? Too low pressures can cause it. You using sealant?
    Wire beads area significantly sturdier, I wouldn't run non-wire bead tubeless personally.

I like bikes
    I think I am gonna run the tube for the season in the rear and replace the tire next season with a wire bead and give it a go. Thanks for the replies.

insert sarcasm here
    Don't give up on tubeless yet. Try some true UST tires first (assuming your Ardents aren't UST). The burly sidewalls and bead should allow you to run low 20's without burping.
    I'm always looking for new people to ride with. If you are on the Front Range, shoot me a PM and let's go ridin'.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by gbug View Post