Let the good times roll.

Blackspire Stinger: BB vs ISCG mount

Just a quick question. It's probably been asked before, but nothing popped up when I searched...

I have a Diamondback Mission with ISCG old tabs and SLX double cranks. I'm going to order a Blackspire Stinger in the next couple days, and I'm wondering if I should get the BB or ISCG mount. Any opinions on which system woks better for a guide like the Stinger? Ease of set-up, not spinning around if I bang into something, durability, any factor that might make one better than the other. I've never used a guide before, so I don't really know what to look out for. I'm just tired of dropping the chain.

Thanks...

Helmet Tester
    I have the bottom bracket mount for E-Type derailleur and it works great so far. I can see that if I didnt have the screws from the derailleur helping to hold it in place that it could very easily shift causing it to rub and to even work the BB cup loose as the drive side is reverse thread.

Short answer: Go with the ISCG for the added stability

usually cranky
    iscg. frames have them for a reason.

local trails rider
    ISCG

BB mounted stuff has the potential to increase BB creaks/loosening.

(I have an ISCG 05 Stinger as a singlespeed tensioner, and found it easiest to tighten it in place with a long hex key through the chainring)

"it IS possible that you are faster or slower than anybody else who is having at least as much if not more or less fun"

Let the good times roll.
    Quote Originally Posted by perttime
    BB mounted stuff has the potential to increase BB creaks/loosening.
    Well, that's just the kind of info I was hoping for. I could do without that issue.

Looks like I might go with ISCG. Are there any drawbacks to that system at all? Or at least stuff to watch out for during setup?

kneecap
    Dec 2003