mtbr member

Black Magic; Tips and Tricks

I rode solo most of my life and then I started riding with my LBS guys. Learning little tthings here and there took me from a gangly kid with beat up shins to a good rider. From How to ride over slick rock and roots to changing a tube in 48sec I picked up the tricks that every one should know and then one night at the bar after a ride it happened...I graduated to "Grand Master MTBR" and the older guys told me about graphite in cable housings, WD40 and turtle wax so mud doesn't stick, balancing wheels, and he importance of the right grease on the right part.

From one guy I got a copy of a tire pressure chart written on 3 hole paper that had documented the tire {make&Model},condition,psi, and performance of every ride he'd been on since 1989!

I realized the recipes and tips being betrayed to me represented lifetimes worth of R&D, trial and error...millions of man hours and $. Every rider has a little bit of black magic up his sleeve and we all want t here it There are a lot of little gems to be picked up. I'm asking you to share your best trick.
    (a proven one not some "I always thought ____ would work better for ____")

A time proven and tested trick. Could be anything as small as "How to patch a tube with the wheel on" to "The Key to keeping you're seat post in place" Use a business card in the clamshell of the seat clamp! better than glue!

Soooo...Post 'Em up! Whats that secret trick for getting stripped crank off, or truing a wheel on the fly. Anything will do.

I'll give you my best kept gem...ready for it?....Vactra 2!

How to cure a sticky fork

Vactra is used to lubricate way bars on machine tools. Its the cats pajamas and eliminates stic-tion in your forks. Move over Cannondale needle bearings! it costs like $9 a pint and that will last you a year or two.

Clean your forks with WD40 and wipe dry with a paper towel,
    (make sure your hands are SUPER CLEAN)