Thread: Which bike???

mtbr member
    May 2007

Which bike???

Ok, I am currently looking to bike a new bike. I am new to this scene and I am stuck between a 2006 Kona Kikapu and a 2007 Jamis Dakar xc. The Kona is going for 850 at one bike shop and at another bike shop the Jamis is going for 800. I am 6'1 230lbs, which bike would be better suited for me? Also the Jamis is a 19inch frame and the Kona is a 18inch frame. I asked the guy at the bike shop if 18inch would be to small and he said it would work fine. So does anyone have any experience with these 2 bikes?

Hi!!!
    There is not a beginner forum on MTBR?

mtbr member
    For that price I might go for a HT instead of a FS.
    Well, I was just riding along when...

mtbr member
    Belay, nice avatar, I wonder if the Hiltons will stock the jail with robes, towels, soaps and small coffee pots for all the prisoners or should I say mandatory guests.

Back to the OP, I would go for the Kona. I have a Stinky and can tell you they are made to last.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Thanks JMAC. Also, who cares if there is a beginner forum? I was asking which bike would be better.. I could of said I have been riding for 10years and it still would have been the same question.

Hi!!!
    I thought this was the "All Mountain" forum though???

And FWIW one of my riding buddies has the Kona and that thing is a tank. We tried to get rid of some ghost shifting that was happening on his bike Friday night. Problem not yet solved.

banned
    Ever visit the beginners forums or which bike to buy forum, probably not! Most of us never go over there to help the new guys out, I've posted over there, and didn't get any help so ended up posting here! I used to ride the dakar, I liked it. Nice solid bike. Did everything I needed it too.

MTB SOCAL