mtbr member
    Nov 2006

New question here. Best fork for 2005 sworks stumpy 120

Hi everyone,

Thanks for reading my cry for help.

I have a nice trick & fairly light 2005 sworks stumpy 120 but the current fork (05 talas 90-130) is a little sloppy (even after a TF tuned service) and I think it needs to be replaced with something that will keep the front wheel in a straighter line, as it is not good enough in corners.

I am currently considering the following:

RockShox Revelation 426 coil u turn
    RockShox Revelation 426 air u-turn
    Fox 32 talas rlc 100-140mm

My thoughts so far:

RS revelation coil:
    Lots of travel adjust (85-130mm)
    Stays within the recommended range of the bike (spesh say max 130mm)
    Simple & hence should be reliable
    People seem to like coil over air (I have no experience of coil)
    4.2 pounds so not too heavy
    Apparently stiff (is is stiffer than the fox?)
    Not sure how easy it is to adjust on the fly - does anyone know?

RS revelation air
    Lots of adjustability (compression and rebound pressure)
    Within recommended travel range for bike
    Should be reliable
    Stiff ?
    4 pounds
    Travel adjust, but not really on the fly (too much winding)

Fox 32 talas rlc
    Should be plush
    Good adjustability
    Circa 4 pounds
    Genuinely adjustable on the fly (3 position switch)
    140mm max may be too long, but the new stumpy 120 has 140mm - is there a difference or is it just spesh trying to get me to buy a new bike when I don't need one?
    Apparently suffers a bit from reliability issues (TF tuned told me thay are worse than the 06). Is this true or are they just pushing rockshox?

As you can see, I am in a bit of a quandry. I would love 140mm if I could get away with it, but if it is too long then I am wasting my money. I would also like the genuine on the fly adjustability if it was an advantage. Luckily, money is not a major issue, I just want the right fork.