mtbr member

Beginner: all mountain hard tail frame suggestions...thanks!

Im a beginner in mountain biking and I like to ask for some suggestions which hardtail frame should I start with, and what fork travel should I use...I also have a limited budget, so any thing you can suggest..?^^ Thanks!!!
    I post this thread here for the reason that I chose to do ALL MOUNTAIN biking with hardtail cause I love riding and climbing in trails...

mtbr member
    An honest assessment of where and how you will be riding will dictate which niche of hardtail you will be riding. "All mountain" vs "trail" vs cross country" covers a huge spectrum. In general the latter will lean towards lighter and more efficient climbing, the former tends to be heavier to handle more advanced technical terrain and sacrifices climbing for descending. Trail somewhat splits the difference. All this can make choosing the right choice a daunting task, after all they look the same to the untrained eye. I was a beginner once (and some would say I haven't progressed much ), but I would say starting with a "trailbike" might be a good bet to get started. You might find yourself leaning to one end or the other after a while as your fitness, skills and confidence progress, only time will tell. You're going to get a hundred different answers here on mtbr and most of them are going to be biased. Only a reputable local bike shop will be your best bet to point you in the right direction for your local terrain.
    Last edited by masterofnone; 09-06-2013 at 05:05 PM. Reason: wrong info
    To appreciate the flowers you must also walk among s**t to know the difference

mtbr member
    If you do end up going with a trail/AM bike, look at:
    On One EVO II, Transition Trans AM, Ragley Blue Pig, NS Surge, Chromag Stylus

Think steel and slack head angle. Id go with 140mm fork, no less than 120mm

if you like 27.5" wheels, the Kona Explosif might be worth a look...

heres a good thread for ideas