Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

anyone use a 29er for all mountain

just curious i test rode a niner jet nine and a niner rip niner and they were great but of course it just a parking lot ride, how do these 29ers work in the all mountiain catergory? any brands can be mentioned...

mtbr member
    Jun 2005
    I have been riding 29er's for about five years, and my full suspension is a 4x4. It is a great bike and I have ridden it in all sorts of different terrain (Moab, BC, etc) but my 4x4 is set up very XC. I recently bought a Rocky Mountain Slayer SXC and have also enjoyed that bike a lot. I will be riding the Slayer for the first time in Moab in a few days and can't wait. My 29er felt a little on the light side of things in the rockier, gnarly terrain of Moab. But, a suitably built 29er would be great (Rip 9, Turner Sultan, 9er WFO, Lenz Behemoth, etc).

The thing that got me to get back on a 26" wheeled bike was tire selection, fork selection and overall weight. My Slayer with a Fox 36 and XT/Mavic wheels weighs about 33lbs. When I can afford to I will lighten up the Slayer with new wheels and possibly cranks and a Fox RP23 but even with the upgrades it will still be in the 31 pound range. If I built up a 29er that was comparable to my Slayer in terms of travel and suitable tires it could very well be 35+ pounds, or more depending on the build. If you are not to worried about climbing on a heavier bike you could love a "bigger" 29er.

Another thing with 29er's is the gearing. With the larger rollout of a bigger wheel, comparable gearing will feel heavier than on a 26" wheeled bike. On my 29er's I am running an ISIS BB and an older 5 arm Race Face crank that allows me to use a 20-30 granny and middle ring. With that set up the gearing is close to a 26er. Again, it comes down to what you are looking for in the bike.

There are definitely some very, very good riders out there doing all mountain/ freeride type riding on 29er's, just not that many.