mtbr member
    Nov 2013

Anyone riding the new Time ATAC MX 8?

I'm a long-time Time Atac Alium rider, and I am looking to move up to a pedal with more platform.

Anyone have experience with the new Time MX 8 (or other new Time Atac MX)?

mtbr member
    I have been running the MX6 for about 4 months and really like them. I got them at a warehouse sale for $50. I have been using Time ATAC's for about 15 years now.

mtbr member
    Nov 2013
    Do you notice the platform you're clipped in (esp. standing/cornering/landing), or does it only help when you're not clipped in?

mtbr member
    I do not notice the platform when clipped in. It does however help when you are not clipped in and need a little extra grab on your shoe until you can get clipped in.

mtbr member
    Iíve been on Timeís for over a decade now. I switched from ATACís to the Z version about 3 years ago. Z basically looks to be the same as what they're now calling DH, a pretty burly atac with aluminum body platform. Love the platform for when Iím clipping back in in a sketchy situation, and it does seem to offer a bit more solid interface with the shoe, which in turn allows me to descend faster with confidence. Bottom line is Iím a big guy with size 15 feet, so the platform model meets my needs better.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    I've been using Times for 15yrs. Had the mx6 for about a year and beat the hell out of them. They're everything I love about Time pedals. Cage offers noticeably more support when pedaling, standing, and cornering. It does give you a better spot to stand when not clipped in, especially if using a rubber soled shoe and not a hard plastic XC type shoe. Def not as secure as flats, but functional if you're nervous or just can't get in.

mountain biker
    I have both the ROC ATAC, and MX 6, and have bought and sold the XC 6. I have soft soled 5.10 clip-in shoes (Maltese Falcon), and hard soled bontrager xc soled shoes.