mtbr member
    Jul 2008

Another clipless thread: Identical feel to platform

Just what everyone wanted to see, another clipless pedal thread. I have some specific inquiries that I was unable to get answered through the search function.

First off, I am not a newbie nor am I new to clipless pedals. This will be my 7th year mountain biking. The first 3 years were spent on SPD's and I had no problem using them and was fond of the advantages they offered. I am pretty systematic at developing my skill set so I had the realization that I was not properly riding my bike to get it to do the things I wanted. So I made the switch over to platform for the last 3 years (5.10's and Canfield crampons). My riding technique really progressed and I am a way better rider and manipulater of my bike now than I ever was with clipless (also due to more experience). I ride and race downhill regularly so I will probably stick with flats for that discipline.

For all mountain riding, I ride technical trails of upstate NY (SMBA & Moreau) and New England, I also want to race enduro seriously this summer. I am looking for a clipless pedal that feels identical to riding on platforms but has the advantage of being connected. By this, I mean I want to feel the entire platform under my foot, not a singular point of engagement. In my mind, this will still allow me to efficiently load and unload the bike. I also want the pedal to be biased towards the middle of my foot with the weight being transferred behind the ball of my foot. Any SPDs and corresponding shoes I've tried since have put me too far on my toes.

I need to find a combination of shoe and pedal that will give me this feel. Research has led me to the crank bros mallet 3 or dh in combination with either the Shimano am 45, 5.10 Maltese falcon, or the new giro chamber. any real world experiences with these, thoughts?

mtbr member