Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    s62
    mtbr member

Ankles and wrists

So, I'm pretty new to the sport. I've got a really nice bike now, and lots of protective gear, but I still suck. I hope I'm getting better, but that takes lots of riding and lots of falling.
    Here's my concern: I'm a drummer. Have been for 15 years. It's the single most important activitiy in my life. This makes MTB especially dangerous, b/c breaking stuff = no drummer. Bummer. So I've got loads of protective gear. Rockgardn Landing Zone shin and knee and elbow gear, rockgardn FATE carbon gloves, bell bellistic helmet, fox flux helmet, etc., etc. But there doesn't seem to be much stuff out there for wrists and ankles.
    And wouldn't you know it, those are the first two things I've f'ed up in my wrecks so far. Bent my ankle (can't walk right), and landed on my hands, seriously hurting my right wrist (from the joint back into the bones). This stuff is a bit debilating. I don't mind getting hurt, but is there any protection or technique to avoid injuring the crucial joints? As it is, I have no lay off riding for a couple of days
    09 Specialized Enduro SL Expert
    w/ E150 and Command Post

conjoinicorned
    or technique to avoid injuring the crucial joints?
    don't fall....

seriously though, if drumming is that important, you should be riding with that in the back of your mind all the time. don't take stupid risks. there are wrist and ankle braces you can get (661 makes some IIRC) that may help.
    what would rainbow unicorn do?

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Also, 5.10 High Impact shoes have more ankle protection than low shoes. They seem to support sideways movement somewhat, and definitely have some armor affect.

mtbr member