mtbr member
    Sep 2013

AMHT: Kona Steely vs. Specialized P1

I'm just getting into all-mountain biking and need a tougher bike than my wimpy XC thing. My list is huge so I'm starting with deciding between the Steely and P1. I also will still do some cross-country, and maybe some dirt-jumping and light freeride and downhill stuff. Also want to be able to wheelie/manual easily. I'm about 120lb and 5'6". Specifically I want a 26in steel hardtail with around 100 to 140mm travel on the front fork, and preferably a lockout feature. Shortest wheelbase and chainstay as possible. I think the Steely is pretty cool looking and from reading reviews up to what I need it for. There aren't so many reviews for the P1 though so I thought I'd ask you guys. Price isn't really an issue now; I'll worry about that later. Thank a lot for and info!

Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum
    First of all, the P1 is not a steel frame, and why would you want a steel frame anyway?
    Big Wheels Keep On Rolling

Forth Eorlingas!

Big Gulps, Alright!
    Quote Originally Posted by CannondaleF9 View Post
    First of all, the P1 is not a steel frame, and why would you want a steel frame anyway?
    Because it has a better ride quality than aluminum and it's easier to repair if you break it somehow.

OP, The P1 is more of a recreational XC bike whereas the Steely is actually meant for some abuse. However, you still need to narrow down what you want because the things that make a bike great for dirt jumping will make it suck for downhill and vice versa.

P.S. You could have posted this in your first thread: New Bike: Steely, Chameleon, Crush . . . Opinions?

mtbr member
    Sep 2013