Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: AM Rim Thread

Cheesiest

AM Rim Thread

Sweet forum! I'm getting the itch to start doing some exploring on my Bullit; it's already en route to an AM/FR build.

My rear rim is about to break at the seem, so I'm trying to figure out the best replacement. I would like to find something in the 28-32 cm range that is the lightest, most durable rim that can handle gnarly trails with some lift-served riding thrown in.

Mavic 823?
    DT 5.1?
    Any others?

Thanks

ride hard take risks

Alpine Rider (Italy)
    mavic xm321

mtbr member
    May 2004

Good job! AM wheels

I second the motion Mavic 321 are great rims for AM and lite enough to handle the hills, at a price that wont give you a hart attack

"El Whatever"
    Alex TD-17's??

What's vox populi on those ones?? They seem very light for the use and only 20 bucks...
    Check my Site

Now with 3 more inches!
    A lot of people seem to be digging the DT 5.1.

I've no experience of them but I love my DT 4.1 rims.

mtbr member
    I'm running the DT 6.1's. They seem decent enough. I only have them because the shop didn't have any DT 5.1 rims in stock or any Syncros DS28 rims and i wanted to try something different to Mavic.

I had the 6.1's retrued after the first 3 rides but i'm hoping it was only because of stress relief in the build. They seem alright now after about 20 rides.

Te mortuo heres tibi sim?
    I've got a set of Syncros DP25 rims on mine; seem to be doing well so far. No problems with fatty tires and low pressure so far, and they've held up fine for over a year of moderate abuse.

Caveat: I only weigh about 165# max when fully loaded on the bike.

If doing the build again, I'd probably go for the slightly wider DP28 rim just for the hell of it. If I end up trashing these, that's probably what will replace them.