Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2010

All mountain vs. XC vs. Trail vs. Freeride

Hey guys... I am a mtb noob. bought a hard tail XC mtb (29er 80mm travel) recently and really loving mtbing in general!

Now that I started MTBing I've realised that I want to get a more intense mountain bike, defintely a full-suspension mtb but I can decide between a trail, all-moutain or freeride bike, but thats because I dont know what exactly characterizes each type of riding.

I was wondering if you guys could give me a little description of what type of riding characterizes each type of bike...

I want a bike that can go over roots, rocks, handle like 3-4 feet drops, etc. I am pretty sure that a freeride bike is intended for more intense terrain than I am looking to ride but I am not sure whether I am looking for a 'trail' bike or an 'all-mountain' bike.

Basically, what i am asking is: could you guys describe what 'all-mountain' is exactly? like describe what type of terrain an 'all-mountain' bike can handle?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    All-Mountain is kind of a loose term for Agressive trails.
    I think for what you are doing a trail bike or a AM bike will work, hell, if you wanted too you could tough it out on your 29er.
    And I do everything on my AM bike, Light DH/FR, AM/Trail, XC and even training on the roads and fire-road climbing (Although I currently am in the market for a road bike)
    Oh, and I do not think you need a FR bike for what your doing (unless your doing really techy-shore trails), Even then a AM bike with more travel (Reign X/Scratch) would probibly suite you better.
    Good Luck

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by PNW Freeride
    All-Mountain is kind of a loose term for Agressive trails.
    I think for what you are doing a trail bike or a AM bike will work, hell, if you wanted too you could tough it out on your 29er.