mtbr member
    Sep 2017

Advice with a rejuvenation

So I've had this Trek VRX200 since '99/'00. I got it new back then and rode it a lot when I was younger. It then sat around in storage for a while. A few years ago I started riding a lot again, and I new there was some issues; then winter hit and I lost the bug. Now this summer and fall I've been riding more again, and the problems are getting obvious again. I've taken very good care of the bike, so the frame is still in great condition.

I'd like to completely start over over with this frame from the ground up. Any thoughts/opinions on this?
    I recently put the phenom seat on and changed out the stem to a shorter one to make the ride a little more comfortable. I also have shimano spd pedals and shoes, but took them off for now, while I get back into riding.

I'm planning to upgrade everything except for the cane creek ad-5. It leaks, but I'm going to change out the o-rings over the winter.

A large issue I've found is that I want to upgrade to disk brakes from the v brakes. I'm planning to get new wheels/tires, and a new fork, but that just leaves the issue of the rear swingarm/mount.

I think I need an adapter, but I'm not sure which one. There are a few threads on these bikes here, but they're old, and I don't know what the current options are. The picture below shows what I have to work with for the mount.

That's my biggest question/obstacle at this point. I'm also looking for thoughts and opinions on what I'm venturing to do here as well.
    Eventually(a few years maybe)I might replace this with either a specialized enduro or trek fuel. But this bike has sentimental value to me(parents bought it for me), So it'd be nice to get it riding well again.

mtbr member
    To be brutally honest, i would not upgrade this bike. I would replace wear parts such as drivetrain/tires and ride it as-is. Save your money for another bike when the time is right and keep this one for the nostalgia factor.