Thread: Advice needed

mtbr member
    Feb 2009

Advice needed

Hello All,

I have been a long time reader of MTBR forums and reviews and always found the advice here useful and am now in the market for a purchase and wanted to get some thoughts from the regulars here that might be able to give me some guidance.

I am a bigger rider (6'3" 265 pounds) and I while I havent ridden in many many years I am fairly confident about the type of riding I want to get into and that is the all mountain category doing some urban assault possibly as time permits. I am looking for something with the all-mountain type geometry and a long travel front fork (120mm+) As I am a beginner I am not seeing myself jumping off big things and being super aggressive at first but I want a bike that will be able to do that as my skill and courage grows and even just hold up to the normal riding I might be doing as I am a bigger rider. I will mostly be riding local trails with some pretty fun descents and stuff. My budget is around 1500.

Given the research I have done so far I am leaning very heavily toward the Kona Five-0 (probably the deluxe for the better drive train and wheelsets) but before I got to far down that path I wanted to see if there was any sage advice that anyone was able to chime in with. I have seen some reference to the NS Core 1 and Core 2 but I have been unable to find any dealers to be able to get a pricepoint established for what either of these might run me. I am open to any ideas that might be out there for different options. I am a bit reserved on the idea of building up my own bike from the frame for a number of reasons. I understand that for the true hard core enthusiast that is the only way to go but as I am a beginner and just starting I want to focus more on the basics to begin with and I will consider building up a new bike down the road (really like many of the frames I have seen on here in my looking around... sinister, cove, santa cruz, etc)