View Poll Results: Used higher end bike or New entry level, with my budget in mind.

Voters
10. You may not vote on this poll
  • Used High end bike. (hopefuly a Stumpjumper w Brain shock)

9 90.00%
  • New Entry level bike. (Giant Youkon FX for example)

1 10.00%
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Advice on chosing a new bike

Ive been riding for about 10 years prob 20-40 times a year and would like to step up to a nice bike but my racecar drains most of my extra cash, so Im limited budget wise. I would like to get into full suspension, im currently riding a hard tail.

I ride mostly wooded trails without any large drops(read as accent and decent with big rocks and roots).

If I were to spend bwtween $1000 and $1500 which would be better.

Option 1
    A used 2007ish(brain version 2) Stumpjumper FRS Comp with a Brain shock. Found a nice one but owner says bike jumps a gear once in a while even with a new derail/shifter/cable/chain. Its close enough that I could go look at it before buying.

Or

Option 2
    Buy one of the entry level new bikes from Gaint (Yukno FX) or Fezzari (Wiki Peak) or another you recommend.

I have always thought the stumpy with the brain was a really awesome bike though I have never ridden one. Please keep in mind that budget. Saving more is not an option, I love riding but I dont ride that much and my other hobby costs big bucks and every $ counts.
    How much more bike is the stumpjumper that is 6 years old over new entry level bike? Is the 6 year old stumpjumper so much better than a new entry level bike that the bonus of everything be fresh and not need maintenance on the new bike not really a factor?

Thanks for the advice and all the great information in this forum.

mtbr member
    New bikes are a ripoff

mtbr member
    Jan 2012