mtbr member
    Jun 2005

Advice with an AM groupset.

Hi, I am in the process of an AM build with a kona coiler frame, and have decided to buy a groupset of the same components. Can you tell me which are good ones to get? I ride DH, so the riding on this bike will also probably be quite influenced by that. I was planning on using the shimano Hone groupset, which looks strong enough for some rough rock gardens etc, and is slightly beefier than the shimano XC groupsets like the XT or XTR.
    Another question: if the hone set is the one I get, will the hollowtech 2 system fit in a normal mtb BB shell in my frame? I have no experience with hollotech systems.
    I have been looking at sram, but I'd like to keep as many components the same as possible, and sram don't make hubs and brakes etc.
    Thanks for help,
    Graham

TNC
    noMAD man
    The Hone crankset is the same as the LX, so it's not stronger than XT...probably about the same strength. XT is fairly stout, and remember these are thru-axle style cranksets which aids in the strength.

The old style of buying a group has kinda gone out of favor, because there are just too many good products scattered among all the brands. You really can come up with a better overall bike by shopping the components across the board.

That said if I was forced to pick a Shimano component group for AM riding, I'd probably go with XT. It's about the best bang-for-the-buck. The Hone stuff is a little heavy to me, and I mean basically heavier without any real strength increase like the Saint group has. If you're building a real AM bike out of your Coiler, try to keep it decently light, and I think you'll enjoy it more. I take it that you already have a DH bike.

mtbr member
    Jun 2005
    Thanks,
    yes I've already got a DH bike. I understand you completely about the added weight with the hone, and not much more strength, and am now debating between:
    1. XT groupset.
    2. Hone groupset.
    3. Seperate components.