mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Advice on 27.5 steel AM hardtail

Been going back and forth trying to decide on what AM HT to get, and it's driving myself nuts. I'd like to get a 27.5 so the options are somewhat limited atm. I see lots of new models coming for 2014, but that's months away, and I dont have anything to ride!

The one which seems to be available closest is he Commencal Meta HT.
    META HT CROMO 2014

I'm 6 feet tall, with 34.5 inch inseam. I'm just afraid the Large Commencal will be too big, while the medium seems small.

Some stats for the large:
    Horizontal Top tube 620 mm
    Reach 422
    Stack 645

So, am I just overthinking the size situation?

Worth noting is that I have no experience with bike geometry, so don't really have anthing to compare with.

If you have any other options on nice bikes available, or will be very soon, please tell.

Bro Mountainbiker
    The Kona Explosif looks pretty sweet. I love my Honzo, but a 650 would be pretty rad.
    Raised in a Chicken-Coop by Chickens

mtbr member
    Bike size is complex, l had the same issue recently, losing sleep over which size to get and then fretting over my choice. What if it was too big?

The only thing you can do is what l did. Ride the bike you want, if it feels right then buy it, and then just forget about it and ride it!

Obviously there are some baseline size charts, but these did not work for me. I am 5 foot 6 and everybody pointed me towards the 15"/16" frame, but l felt much happier on the 17", so l went for that one.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by lotusdriver View Post
    Bike size is complex, l had the same issue recently, losing sleep over which size to get and then fretting over my choice. What if it was too big?

The only thing you can do is what l did. Ride the bike you want, if it feels right then buy it, and then just forget about it and ride it!