mtbr member
    Jan 2004

23 vs. 28mm rims for AM use ?

I started riding mtn bikes on your typical 23mm wide XC rim. Not long after riding mt bikes I switched out my 2.0 - 2.2" tires for 2.35 - 2.5" tires (Moto background influence). Running the XC rims I did quite a bit of pich flatting running low 30's air pressure. Decided I should have wider rims and my DH bike ended up w/ 36mm rims and my trail bike 32mm rims. Fast forward a few years I have noticed running 28mm rims my tire tread is rounder and my bike rolls faster @ high 30's pressure w/ little to no flatting. I now have 28mm rims on my big bike and planned on DT Swiss 5.1's (28mm wide) for my trail bike. Got to thinking can I get by with 23mm rims thus saving weight etc. ? I want to run 2.35 tires w/ Kenda Enduro tubes, or should I just stick with 28's ? Thanx

eBiker
    Quote Originally Posted by keen
    Got to thinking can I get by with 23mm rims thus saving weight etc. ? I want to run 2.35 tires w/ Kenda Enduro tubes, or should I just stick with 28's ? Thanx
    Stick with the 28s for fewer pinchies, more stability at lower pressures, etc. But save weight by going a lightweight tube (100g vs. the typical 200g tube). If you aren't pinching on the wider rims, then you could probably run the lighter tubes.

Try it out. Its a $5 test for 100g is savings at the outside of the wheel.....

P

squish is good