mtbr member
    Oct 2008

'08 Trek Fuel EX7 or '08 Mongoos Canaan Elite

Experienced (Cat. 2) roadie, looking to add a trail bike to my stable. I've done a ton of test rides and down to 2 options, both are exactly the same price.

1) 2008 Trek Fuel EX7
    2) 2008 Mongoose Canaan Elite

I know this is kind of a shot in the dark since it's extremely unlikely that anyone has owned both bikes but I'm a newbie on the trail and don't really know the difference between the two. The Mongoose looks slightly better on paper but I've heard great things about the Trek ABP.

I'm 6' 1", 165 lbs. if that matters.

Thanks

C.U.S.T.O.M
    Aug 2008
    No one here can tell you whats best for YOU! Gonna have to test ride both and see for yourself. I test drove and Ex7 and its very race oriented... But I prefer to be more laid back.

squish is good
    Quote Originally Posted by bizzy930
    No one here can tell you whats best for YOU! Gonna have to test ride both and see for yourself. I test drove and Ex7 and its very race oriented... But I prefer to be more laid back.
    Word. Ride them both. Buy what you like. These bikes are that good, you can't really go wrong. You know as an experienced roadie that there are lots of bikes that work well, same principles apply here.
    Bike good, work bad.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    Well, I've test ridden both and nothing really stuck out. I was hoping for some anecdotes about frame/shock/wheels reputation but it doesn't sound like their are any issues with either so I guess it'll come down to the shop I like best in terms of service.

My other Auto is a .45