mtbr member
    Dec 2013

01 Specialized M4 s works fsr ?

Here's deal. Im 50 yr old, 5'9" 170. Ride wth my kids and have a GT " fitness" bike but want more to ride the trails, smaller jumps on the downhills [ 5' or so] found this bike wth upgraded crank/ susp etc... is in real good shape for $400. Or should I go wth new bike 500-1000 range. Kind of lost as nobody my age rides mtb here to get advice from but lots of places to ride around Mo. I know the specialized is pretty old but was a real good bike in its day and not sure how much better tech is now. Could I possibly upgrade this bike for myself? thanks for any help. Steve

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    Do you mean 5 foot jumps on your dh runs? Which model Specialized? Elaborate a little further on the type of riding you will be doing, this will better help me in letting you know what you should get. I've been racing for two years now and have ridden every type of bike on every type of trail, ask away.

If you're riding trails with jumps in the 5 foot range, I would look past the sworks. But there is nothing wrong with that bike, 5 feet will be pushing it but anything less than that the bike will provide the type of riding you're looking for. $400 might be a little steep considering it is 12 years old, you can go to a local bike shop and see what left over '13 models that are still in stock, you could find a specialized camber around the $1,000 mark. Especially other companies like GT and Giant to name a few.
    08 Enduro: '12 Van RC2, Push DHX 5 coil, Flow EX, Hope m4, 750mm bar, Blacklite Post.

Website
    http://all-mtn.com/

mtbr member
    Dec 2013