Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: $1500 Budget

mtbr member
    Aug 2011

$1500 Budget

Coming from a Hardtail Cannondale Trail SL2. Looking for a full suspension MTB. I know my budget is low but that's all I got. Having a hell of a time finding a used bike as most seem very old and beat up. I would prefer new if possible.

What would you guys recommend in that price range?

Thanks!

noob
    Jan 2006
    I would scour the LBS's looking for deals. I bet you could pick up something like a Remedy for $1800 on clearance.

Edit: looks like places are starting sales already...
    The only thing that really worried me was the ether. There is nothing more helpess and irresponsible and depraved than a man in the depths of an either binge. And I knew we'd get into that rotten stuff pretty soon...

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    I am new to this, so brands and models would be helpful as well.

Thanks

mtbr member
    he's talking about the trek remedy, msrp is $2,800 so that would need to be one hell of a sale, the trek rumblefish is a 29er coming in at $2,400. but checking out shops nearby would yield the best bike for the buck, this is a good time of year to pick one up
    Protection Hurts Performance

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    better to have a dialed hardtail than an ok full suspension imo. but i gotta agree with checking all the shops in your area, I've seen many nice full suspensions on clearence in that price range.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Could get a 2011 Trek Fuel EX 5 for $1250.00 or a 2011 Cannondale RZ One Twenty 4 for $1200.00. Are these any good? Similar enough to where it doesn't matter?

There's also a Specialized camber comp for about $1400

Thanks

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    The treck is a pretty decent bike. Maybe not perfect for heavy all mountain use but it will get the job done perfectly fine.

mtbr member
    Sep 2011