mtbr member

Questions for those in Anchorage......

My wife and I are looking to escape the oppressive heat and humidity of the southeast for a much cooler climate. We've been looking at cities in Montana, Washington, and Maine, and a few other northern states, but Alaska has a VERY strong appeal to us, especially the Anchorage area.

We currently live in the Atlanta area, where my wife teaches school and I'm a civil engineer. My wife found out that the Anchorage school system is actively recruiting teachers in her specialty (health), and are paying very good salaries for her position and education (she has a master's and her specialty certificate). So money won't be a problem for us if we move.

Can any of you tell me about the riding around Anchorage? I've been to the Arctic Bicycle Club's site and Anchorage looks like it will have a ton of opprtunities for riding and racing. I currently race road and cyclocross, while doing recreational MTB, but wouldn't mind racing some XC this year as well. How possible is it to sneak in some training miles on the MTB on the roads/trails around Anchorage in the winter? Or is it best to stick to trainer rides and XC skiing for the outdoors fun?

Any help and information you guys can share on Anchorage would be greatly appreciated from my end.
    [SIZE="4"]Voters4Ventura[/SIZE]
    Sign the Petition

We want... a shrubbery!