mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Who are the Airbourne of road bikes

Airbourne seem to have a great range of low cost, direct to consumer mountain bikes. I'm just wondering if there's an equivalent company doing the same for road bikes. Or will Airbourne start selling road bikes at some point?

I would love to get into road biking on something like a Trek Madone 2.1, but that price point is just too high for me to try something out. That's what I love about Airbourne. You can get into mountain biking for as little as $600 on the Guardian and feel confident that you're buying a half decent bike. Then you can push up to the Seeker or Goblin and have a well speced bike without spending a fortune.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Bikes direct have some road bikes, but I've got no experience with those. Occasionally you'll find some good deals on Jenson as well.

What I did was call a very cool LBS. He was only too happy to order me a previous generation road bike at a significant discount. I got a great road bike for almost half off.
    Eric

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    I've looked on Bikes Direct. I know that's an option, but I don't love their formula of churning out hundreds of bikes all with lots of marketing hype. I much prefer the Airbourne formula of focusing on getting a few models right. I don't have anything against BD. I just get more of a sense of passion for cycling from Airbourne and I wondered if someone's doing the same in the road bike world.

mtbr member
    I think at some point in the future, Airborne will be the "Airborne" of road bikes. It's not on our immediate plans but is on our longterm plan.

Jeremy
    Homebrewer, Patriot, Amateur Photographer

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by BigDaddyFlyer View Post
    I think at some point in the future, Airborne will be the "Airborne" of road bikes. It's not on our immediate plans but is on our longterm plan.

Jeremy