mtbr member

Trek Mamba vs Airborne Gremlin

Hey,

I'm new to the sport and this will be my first real bike. I'm 24 and an avid outdoors person, I paintball and fish regularly and take occasional river rafting trips, so I need the hgighest quality components for my buck. I've narrowed my budget down to $1000-1200 and my question is, if the Airborne Gremlin is worth buying over the Mamba for $250 more?

I'm wondering if its really worth spending the extra cash. From what I've been told it is the best bang for the buck around the $1k price-point. Let's put aside the size of the frame and fitting for a second or any additional (misc.) parts that i know I need like a helmet, bottle mounts, bottles, etc, I need to know if the extra $250 is worth it purely on specs.

This will be my first bike, I am very much looking forward to taking on this sport and I want something that is high quality and has the integrity to hold up and be a joy to ride. Ultimately however, I am looking for the best bang for my buck.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

keeptrollintrollintrollin
    Short answer.... Yes. (BTW... It's Goblin)

The only major thing is, if you buy the Trek from a LBS you will have their support and maybe some free adjustments that you will not get with the Goblin. As far as specs go... The goblin is the winner.

mtbr member
    HAHA, "gremlin"

Yeah I meant Goblin.

I don't think there's any local dealers that carry Airborne in my area. If I order from their main site, would it come fully disassembled like a BD bike?

Edit: I just read this in the www.twentynineinches.com site-review of the Goblin, "the bike comes very well packed with minimal assembly required. Even if you didn't have a clue as to how to adjust the bike, it would be rideable..."

Hmm is there somewhere I can go read on how to properly adjust a bike?
    Last edited by scatl M artin; 04-07-2012 at 07:37 PM.

mtbr member
    Is a Goblin also better spec'ed than a Cobia?