mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Guardian or Seeker for this guy?

First off, let me apologize in advance. I know this question has been asked several times before. I'd really appreciate some input geared towards my situation though. I was all set on ordering the Guardian but had some second thoughts after reading about the Seeker some more recently. I'm a beginner that sold an entry level bike a few years back but really excited about getting back into riding. I'm just curious as to if I'd notice a major difference out on the trails if I went for the Seeker? Or how soon do you think I might be looking to upgrade parts if I went with the Guardian? I'm much happier with the Guardian price but will try to convince the wife on spending an extra 300 if that's the much better option haha.

I'm 6'2, 190 lbs by the way. Thank you kindly!

mtbr member
    If you have the cash, there is nothing wrong with the jump to the next level as it would be cheaper than upgrading the Guardian in the long run.

EDIT - I guess I should list the reasons why!

The Seeker vs the Guardian
    Air fork vs. spring loaded fork - a nice plush ride that is easier to dial into your liking
    Tapered headset vs. non tapered - much more stability and strength
    Elixer vs. Tektro brakes - Elixer brakes are about the best on the market

Those reasons right there are worth the extra cash.
    Money doesn't buy happiness, but you can buy a bike, and that is pretty close.

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    Then there are the rims. The Speeddisk i19 are better for converting to tubeless. Stans even sells a kit for the i19. Plus, they are somewhere around 300g lighter.

Then there's the 2x10 gearing and the sealed bottom bracket. 2x10 is a great compromise gear setup for those who do mixed riding and don't like redundancy and chainline considerations of 3x on the trail.

EDIT: Both have sealed BBs. The Seeker uses the GXP BB though.
    Last edited by MikeinMinn; 01-08-2014 at 01:20 PM.

mtbr member