mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Goblin Cockpit Fit

So I've been riding my 20" green Goblin now for about 2 months and what a stellar machine! Handles great and climbs/descends like a skinned cat! I actually just bought the frame and fork together and built the rest of the bike up from a used component set, so it barely resembles a stock Goblin. I really like the handling and it's climbing ability a LOT but even after a fair amount of saddle time, getting fit by a good friend who is top notch mechanic, and a few changes in riding style I'm still noticing a fair amount of discomfort. I'm about 5'11" with a 33" inseam, so I'm not having much issue with the standover height of the frame, but I feel really leaned over on the bike and I have a fair amount of lower back pain after about an hour in the saddle. I also don't feel really comfortable standing and pedaling as I do seated. My stem is about 100mm and my bars are 685mm according to my measurements. I recently rode a friend's 2013 19" Rumblefish and was really impressed with the whole cockpit feel. I know the Goblin is meant to be more of an XC race bike and the Trek is supposed to be a trail bike, but I'd love to have the more comfortable, upright riding position with the wide bars. So, basically what I would like to ask is, would a cockpit feel similar to the Rumblefish be achievable on my Goblin? Or would the longer top tube and other geometry restraints prevent me from obtaining the shorter reach, wider bar, upright position feel that I would like to have? I'm just trying to figure out if it is even feasible before I drop $100+ on a shorter stem/wider bar combo.

TXTony