Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member

Changing to a 2x9 setup

I currently have the Guardian, and the 3x9 setup is not bad, but I feel like I rarely use the biggest and smallest front cogs when I'm on the trails.

I'm pretty new to this sport, but I was wondering if a 1x9 setup was unusual? What are the benefits and disadvantages (other than not being able to have more gears) be? Does anyone currently have this setup?

Also, would this considerably reduce the weight of my setup as well? That would be a good plus for sure.
    Last edited by swl7; 10-09-2012 at 04:21 PM. Reason: changed title to 2x9 since I will be transitioning into that

mtbr member
    I also see this, but I'm not 100% sure on the current sprockets and chain rings on the guardian at the moment. Workshop: How To Convert Your Mountain Bike To 1x9 Or 2x9 Gearing - BikeRadar

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    You might consider asking your questions in the appropriate forums. This one for example in the drivetrain or beginners forum. Your brake question ine the brake or beginners forum. Your tube question in the wheels and tire or beginners forum. This forum is for Airborne specific topics. Most of your questions are general bike questions.
    But to not be a dick, yes 1x9 is very common, yes you will save some weight, mostly from removing the shifter and derailleur. Try doing your rides without shifting the front gears before committing to the swap. If you do go through with it you will need to shorten the chain and possibly run a guide or tension device.

mtbr member
    if you really feel that you dont need them, then it is easy to delete the others. get an appropriate bashguard, to match your 32 tooth middle ring. this will make it so you dont need different bolts. you just unbolt the outer ring, put the bash in its place, bolt it back. takes a 5mm and a 6mm allen.