mtbr member
    Dec 2012

Yeti build...newbie

Hi all. I have never built a bike before...just bought and upgraded here and there on a few pieces...I have a yeti big top frame and struggling to put together a sweet package other than just picking Shimano xt components...or maybe that is a sweet package. I used to ride alot and had a nice kona with carbon fiber wheels, Magura hydraulics, xtr derailleurs, etc. I mixed and matched. Been out of the game awhile so just looking for some input, maybe a list of your build (and if it was a yeti big top even better!). I am even stuck on sizes as I can't seem to find a list of size recommendations anywhere either. My riding is typically pretty flat with some small climbs and descents. Tight turns and just your typical pa dirt/rocky trails. Any thoughts?

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    Absolutely nothing wrong with using the XT group. Ive been using xt for years. For its weight vs price benefits, It's awesome for the money. Heck, even SLX is top notch right now. It's all trickle down technology anyways.

I'm not really sure what kind of answer your looking to get since components all depend on how fat your wallet is...and what your ultimate goal is. If you don't mind spending the money to shave grams on each component...XT or XTR all day long. If you want value with the slight weight penalty, SLX is a good option. If you have a build budget...I'd personally invest a little more upfront on wheels and replace the components as they break or you see a reason to do so. At the end of the day I'd rather be out riding with lesser quality components...then staring at an unfinished build.