Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Rogue Exterminator

X-Fusion Slide RL2

I read the reviews but there are only 2 on this fork.
    I know it will be a hell of a lot better then the pogo stick on my bike now (lowest end suntour)
    In general for a budget fork how is this?

Price wise, it compares to the Recon but feature wise, it seems to compare to the Reba.
    If you were looking at price, would you rather have a Recon or a Slide.

Keep in mind, I am a beginner and do not want to dump a ton of money in this bike (Diamondback Overdrive) and hope to get a much nicer FS29er next year. I just want to make it a little nicer to ride until then.

Thanks

bonked
    IIRC it is basically the 29er version of the Velvet and Enix forks. You can probably more information based on reviews of those forks. My impression of the Enix on my wifes bike is that it is a pretty nice well made single air fork, but I don't personally have any ride time on it. Other people I know in the bike biz are fairly impressed with what X-Fusion has to offer.
    Quote Originally Posted by banks
    That is one big f'n dude!
    Yes I am!

banned
    Seeing how it appears your at the beginner stages and want to progress and get another bike next year.

Maybe purchase a used steel rigid fork for around $40 and slap a 2.25ish or larger tire on the front. For a 100 dollar bill you have a better front end and far less dissapointment with the current Suntour. The money saved can go towards your next bike.

Do some research on rigid forks. As to how they make you a better rider. Theres enough info here on MTBR to write a half dozen books on the topic.

mtbr member
    Dec 2011
    I'm very happy with the Slide on my Scott. The bike came with a crap suntour fork and I weigh around 250 lbs, the coil fork with close to zero adjustment just plain didn't work for me.

For someone who needs the adjust-ability and control of an air fork without spending too much I'd recommend the Slide every time.