Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Harrumph

Whisky Parts No. 7 Tapered Fork

Anyone have miles on one of these yet? As far as I can tell it's the only direct option to the Niner Carbon fork. They look very comparable; tapered carbon, post mount, 470 A-C.

The Whisky is a little cheaper, but the Niner is much better finished and has 45mm Rake (which IMO should be the minimum for a nice handling 29'er...but that's another thread). I'm pretty sure I came across something saying there would be a higher offset version of the Whisky fork available eventually. I'd maybe hold out for the higher offset version if it exists, but I think there is value in the Niner's extra cost especially if the Whisky is only available in 39mm rake.

Thoughts?
    Slowly slipping to retrogrouchyness

mtbr member
    It's 480-485mm high... I have some experience on it, and didn't notice the change in rake (from my usual 46mm rake Reba).
    Also it was very stiff, and didn't notice any flexing or dampening at first.... untill i noticed that after some descents my arms weren't all that fatigued and buzzing, so I guess they do filter some sharpness.

Is dang happy!
    It looks like the same fork that you can get with a the Chinese carbon frame from that thread.
    Selling for around $130 on the bay. Thinking of trying one out this summer as I replace the fleet of aging 26ers.
    http://whiskyparts.com/images/forks/mountain/FK2603.jpg
    http://s1248.photobucket.com/albums/hh494/xgoods/70.jpg
    The wheel is a extension of the foot

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    Is there a direct link to that ebay special?

At that cost, I may as well order one along with the ODIS. Just to try.

Harrumph
    Still waiting on the 45deg offset version. "The Q" has June 1 as the date available right now. If they push it back again I'm going to get the Niner fork.

For those picking up the cheepy e-gay forks, check out this thread.