mtbr member

What should I upgrade next?

Just got a nice new fork and the crank was also replaced about 2 months ago. What should I upgrade next? I am a newbie when it comes to components, I mostly concentrate on riding and technique. But now I see how upgrades can change the entire feel of a bike I am really intrigued.

My bike, Kona Mahuna:

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    Lots of close outs right now on SRAM x9 level shifters, derailleurs chains etc. could improve your shifting quite a bit for very little. Another option which is my favorite is to pick up a new wheelset, tubeless of course depending on your budget.

I'd recommend some hope hubs on Stan's no tube rims, flow's crests or arch's depending on your weight.

Kitty! Kitty! Kitty!

Re: What should I upgrade next?

Wheelset for sure. Nice ride!

mtbr member
    Is there something about your bike that you are not enjoying? Are you trying to drop weight? Why upgrade if it needs nothing?
    2008 Redline Monocog 29er SS/Rigid
    2013 Marin Mount Vision XM7
    FS: 26" Black Flag Expert Wheelset (new), Reba 29 Fork

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by moefosho View Post
    Is there something about your bike that you are not enjoying? Are you trying to drop weight? Why upgrade if it needs nothing?
    That's just crazy talk.

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    I'd say grab yourself a set of X9 shifters and an X9 rear derailleur. That's a great upgrade your could do for less than $200.
    2013 Transition TransAM 29er
    2011 Yeti 303R DH
    2012 Banshee Spitfire V1.5

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by VTSession View Post
    I'd say grab yourself a set of X9 shifters and an X9 rear derailleur. That's a great upgrade your could do for less than $200.
    Thanks, I think I have an 8 speed cassette. Will this work with my bike even though it says 9 speed in the description?

SRAM X.9 TRIGGER SHIFTERS W/ X.9 RER DER KIT | Rear Derailleurs | Drivetrain | www.PricePoint.com

Name:  135_srax93_0.jpg