mtbr member
    Aug 2013

New question here. What to buy to upgrade Trek Marlin 29er.

So I am brand new to the thread if you can't tell by the rep. But I am going to pose a very bague question that is up for a lot on personal opinion. I am currently riding a Trek 29er Marlin Hardtail 21" and plan on making this my all purpose ride. Currently right now I have made a few small upgrades over the stock set up. I upgraded the cranks/cassette and kept it at the three gears, not exactly sure what the set up was bought it at a local bike store. I broke the plastic pedals and had to replace those with just regular metal ones. So far the bike is riding well and is mostly on pavement or sand/dirt lots. But I plan on upgrading this thing into something a little more capable. The things I want to know about are a few components that I want to upgrade and peoples opinion of what it should/could be. The things I would like to know about are...

+ What kind of brake upgrades can I make to it? The stock brakes are really weak and noisy and I know this will be a make/break factor for what kind of trails I will be on.
    + The seat is atrocious and really needs to be changed out. What kind of seat is most commonly traded up for when exchanging out stock components?
    + The grips are loose and need to be changed. The grips were never really that good but the heat out here in Bahrain has just made them loosen and free spin and when I sweat I can't get any sort of grip. I know gloves would remedy the sweat thing but also the grips still spin so they have to go.
    + The shocks are pretty decent but I don't know how capable they are. After reading a few of the reviews on here it seemed like a few of the more serious riders needed to change the stock ones out.