mtbr member
    Jun 2013

New question here. Upgrades over time - Stick to Groupsets?

I purcahsed the most bike the wife would allow. I got a Hardtail bike that fits and a style that I like. Now I'd like to upgrade the components over time, so that it comes in a few bits at a time and under the budgetary radar screen. I've been working on bikes for many years and feel confident in just about everything except re-dishing the rear wheel.

Here's the questions I alluded to in the title:
    Would it be best to pick a groupset and buy the compenents desired from that set? Are the 9 speed rear ends being phased out, so that I sholud pick a 10 speed groupset.

I did do some searching but most posts seem to be a year or two old. I know about chainlines and Maximum Capacity, ect. but the compatibility can seem intimidating.

mtbr member

Upgrades over time - Stick to Groupsets?

Short version: XT 2x10 is the best bang for your buck and can be found on sale piece at a time.
    '14 Lenz Lunchbox
    '08 Gary Fisher Ferrous 29

ballbuster
    Meh... you can find deals. I too am in 9 speed world, and will stay there as long as possible. Not that I think 10 speed is any major upgrade, or not, but because I like my Shimano Dual Control shifters, which are only 9 speed. They dropped the DC shifter line before 10 speed was the thing.

Also, I like my stupid low granny gear with 5 arm compact chainrings... (so I can have my 20t granny and 30t middle... we have lots of stupid steep long climbs around here).

I think 9 speed will still be readily available for a few years. We've just seen 8 speed finally go away for the nicer stuff about 3 or 4 years ago. Try and find an 8 speed XT cassette, and you'll see what I mean. 9 speed became the thing back in like 2000-2001 or so. It was out before then, but wasn't common on lower rent stuff until 2001, really.