mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Upgrade my bike!

Hey guys, I just picked up a 13' Canondale trail SL4 29er. Specs here:
    http://www.cannondale.com/2013/bikes...l-29er-4-28032

So far I like the bike for it's weight and feel but I know the components leave a lot to be desired. The only upgrades I've done is going to a 2.1 tire. I'm doing a lot of single tracks with roots and rocks and moderate drops, etc. I tend to be pretty hard on things and I weigh in at 225.
    I've already had issues with the brakes so recommendations on where to go there would be awesome. I like the lever feel of shimano so no avid, etc.

Also, I keep hearing that I'll want to ungrade wheels...any recommendations here given the type of riding would be cool. I'm a bit new to this stuff which brings me to my next question: Vendors? or websites that a cool to search parts and learn a bit about this stuff would be great.

Thanks!

mtbr member

Upgrade my bike!

The stock stem for the handle bars is usually very heavy on a stock cdale.
    You could drop a lot there with a simple part.

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    ^ Thanks, any idea where to look? I'm new here so anything you guys can recommend, I'm doing to research and learn, so i appreciate the advice. I want to get the most out of what I have here given my platform.

mtbr member

Upgrade my bike!

I bought the same bike and tried it out extensively on local trails for a month.
    Then I evaluated the weak links for my riding style and local trails.

Generally every part of that bike is a budget part.
    You could realistically justify replacing every component in the bike depending on needs wants.

Almost everyone, who gets onto the more hardcore trails, upgrades the follow stock parts on your bike by choice or need due to failure:

Fork: Stock shock is a joke for any downhill attempt, but is ok for flat trails.
    I recommend looking for a good last year model sale on a "light weight" but good 120-140mm fork from rock shock.