mtbr member
    Jul 2013

tubeless tire problem

I've been running tubeless tires on my Scott 29'er for two years with no problems, until now. I've had 3 rear flats while trail riding in the last month. I've had to use tubes while on the trail, but when I get home I re-do the Stan's. A couple of rides are fine, and then I'll have another flat. Tire pressure stays high all week, then when I ride on Saturday, 20 minutes in, tire rolls off the rim. No visible leaks. I can't figure out what's going on. Someone told me I must have a puncture that holds until I put my weight on the bike while riding. (I'm 5'11" 185lbs) Front tire has never had a problem. Any ideas? I don't want to go back to tubes, but this is getting old.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator

tubeless tire problem

Quote Originally Posted by rmoore View Post
    I've been running tubeless tires on my Scott 29'er for two years with no problems, until now. I've had 3 rear flats while trail riding in the last month. I've had to use tubes while on the trail, but when I get home I re-do the Stan's. A couple of rides are fine, and then I'll have another flat. Tire pressure stays high all week, then when I ride on Saturday, 20 minutes in, tire rolls off the rim. No visible leaks. I can't figure out what's going on. Someone told me I must have a puncture that holds until I put my weight on the bike while riding. (I'm 5'11" 185lbs) Front tire has never had a problem. Any ideas? I don't want to go back to tubes, but this is getting old.
    What tires and rims?
    Are they actually tubeless, or are you using standard tires/rims without inner tubes?
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

usually cranky
    may have also damaged the tire bead and or dented the rim which is causing it.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    have you ever blown the tire off the rim during setup?

mtbr member

tubeless tire problem

Quote Originally Posted by b-kul View Post