mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Tire, Tube, and Cog Question - Bomb Proof City Bike

I am sorry folks I have tried to figure out the right sizes for parts to buy, now that I am about to spend money I want to double check myself.

Tire, Tube, and Cog Question - Bomb Proof City Bike-bikesdirect_gravity_29_ss_mountain_bike.jpg

I have a Gravity 29ss that I am trying to mak into a semi-bomb-proof city bike. Specs here. Here are the parts I am thinking of, please correct me if I am off! Thank you.

Big Apple Tires:
    28 x 2.35

Tubes:
    Preferably Thorn Resistant, Schrader Valve.

Mr Tuffy Liner:
    700 X 35-42

And finally I have a 33x18 single speed. I ride mostly flat lands, and I run out of speed real quick. What about?

14t real ACS Crossfire Bicycle Freewheel
    On my exercise bike I pedal around 80rpm, so I think this would give me 15 mph.

I am a bike noob, ding-dong, know-nothing. I am just learning this stuff and I value any help!!

Thank you,
    Adam
    Last edited by ceramite; 06-29-2013 at 05:21 PM.

mtbr member
    I haven't used those tires but they look like a good tread for the streets to me. Using TR tubes with Mr. tuffys is going to make that bike feel a lot heavier and more sluggish, and if it were me I'd use regular weight tubes without liners. I commuted daily for many years and got very few flats using good tires and standard tubes.

The stock gearing bike is pretty much off road oriented so going bigger is probably wise, but the drivetrain will last longer if you use a bigger front chainring instead of a smaller rear cog. Also it looks like that bike might use a cassette cog instead of a freewheel ?

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    Excellent advice!! So just use regular tubes and skip the heavy tubes and liners. I ride on nice side walks mostly.