mtbr member
    Aug 2013

Suntour XCR questions

Just got a 2013 Talon 1. It came with XCR forks, which I already know are not the best and should probably be replaced. I'm new to this mountain bike deal, however I am not new to offroad toys/racers. I am able to re-build by offroad car shocks, raced MX and was also a mechanic on MX bikes back in the day.

Here's my questions;

1) Do all forks top out hard when the wheel leaves the ground? I don't have the tension set very tight. When I jump off a curb it really slams hard. No rebound dampening adjustment.

2) Does anyone make a "top out" spring or rubber to install in the fork to soften the top out blow?

3) The manual is pretty weak but I assume the forks have oil in them. Anyone know what weight?

I know the best thing to do would be to upgrade but I have to do that in baby steps as the wifie will have my ass in a sling if she found out I had to spend money on an upgraded fork already and I just got the bike. . All the other stuff I've been buying to get geared up is explanatory as "I don't have this and I need it" where as a new fork, in her mind, is a not NEEDED item to ride.

Since she makes half the money around here, I guess she has a say......... LOL.

Thanks. I tried a search but came up with nothing, as in the search bar said nothing existed for my question.

mtbr member
    Suntour XCR Fork maintenance, disassembly, repair, fix, service.

Thanks Google/search

The "rebound" leg is a sealed cartridge that can not be user serviced.
    Last edited by mitzikatzi; 08-30-2013 at 02:59 AM.
    Duct tape iz like teh Force. It has a Lite side and a Dark side and it holdz the Universe together.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    You can upgrade to an air Raidon fork for 189+12 shipping.
    If you want to upgrade your Suntour fork

Rogue Exterminator
    Quote Originally Posted by rorhound View Post
    When I jump off a curb it really slams hard.
    You are using up all your suspension jumping off curbs?