mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Stem, Tires.. Noob help.

Hey guys,

Those who don't know me total noob here and a special one at that, can be found here

Basicly I have limited experience however my bike came with small bock 8s and after trying to ride a trail after a rain fall I found out the hard way that they don't work well in anything wet and sticky!!! Through my loving bike shop we ended up putting on some Capitan Control tires as they where in my budget and worked in anything.

So my two questions here are..

Stem... Im a very large guy lots of weight up top and have a hard time getting into the right positions for trail riding.. often i find my self with my butt hanging off the back of the seat and my upper body still more vertical than it has to be.. so to help out we removed that contoured handle bar on my bike with a straight one, then went from a 90mm to a 110mm stem that instead of angled up was slightly down.. and this helped alot.. The problem was and is being so big and so much upper body weight (300+ pounds from my seat up ) when i go to climb i would just yank the front tire off the ground.

So the question i have is going to something like a 130mm stem.. would be much more and force me more forward and drop more weight over the front end, which i really think i would like.. However will that totally pooch me riding? Someone i ride with.. suggested it would make my bike handle more like a big truck going around corners.. which im not too worried about as i don't have the confidence to go fast anyways. Any suggestions?