mtbr member
    Jan 2013

SRAM x7 Rear Derailleur went slack?

I was on the trail the other day going down a bumpy section and my chain flew and I had no control over the derailleur. After further inspection everything seems to be working fin except for the internal spring which is not doing it's job. I took it apart and looked at it and it seems to be in working order it just doesn't hold any tension the way it should. I am pretty new to bikes so maybe this is an easy fix or it's just broken but hopefully someone can help me out! Thanks!Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1371669569.415743.jpg
Views: 645
Size:  26.3 KB

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    There is a coiled spring with a leg on either end that provides tension. Either one of the legs broke off or the spring slipped. If you download the SRAM spares manual, you can see pictures. Open it up and take a look but you are probably looking at a new derailleur.

mtbr member
    Jan 2013

SRAM x7 Rear Derailleur went slack?

I have looked at the internal spring and it seems to still fit into the slots on either end still, but it still doesn't have any tension. Do they sell parts for derailleurs?

I Tried Them ALL... Moderator
    Time for new rear derailleur. Next time - go SRAM X0, which has titanium parallelogram and B-knuckle coil springs. Mine are from 2004 and still perform as NEW...with zero chain slap.
    "The mind will quit....well before the body does"

turtles make me hot
    I recently blasted my derailleur with a big stick and broke the hanger. After changing the hanger trailside (in the dark, it was a night ride), I had the same thing and had to walk out.
    Once I got home and pulled the derailleur off the bike, I realized that pin that stops it from unloading the spring was sheared off. I wound it around once and reinstalled the chain. Been working fine ever since.
    I like turtles

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by BrianVarick View Post
    Do they sell parts for derailleurs?