mtbr member
    Feb 2012

Specialized Camber Upgrade

I have a 2012 Specialized Camber 29er. I love the bike, love the ride, but I am looking to upgrade components on the bike but I don't know where to start. I think the shifters, derailleur's front and rear, breaks front and rear, seat post, and maybe wheels to lighten things up. I am new to MB's so I don't know a whole lot about brands and who makes the best products. I have $1,000-$1,300 to invest in the bike. What would be your top 5 mods to do to the bike. Like I said, I am new to this world and I really need quality input. Ready Set GO!

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    That's a nice bike, if it were me, I would perhaps start with the baseline/heavy tire/wheel package and drive-train.

R.I.P. DogFriend
    If your Camber is the one with the Rock Shox Recon Gold TK, see if it's possible to upgrade the damper cartridge from TK (TurnKey) to a Motion Control damper. If it's possible, the cartridge should be around $60+/-. Doubt it will make the bike lighter, but the fork should perform better. Next thing I would consider, would be the wheelset. Here, you can lose some weight and gain some performance advantages.

Your drivetrain on the base line Camber FSR is a 9 speed variety, but I don't see a real need to change that out as it would be expensive compared to the advantages gained by going to 10 speed. However, the stock cassette is a pretty low end boat anchor, so an XT or SRAM PG-990 cassette will be lighter and won't gouge up the likely aluminum freehub body you'll be sporting with a new lighter wheelset.

The next thing I would swap out would be the brakeset. I'd go with Shimano SLX or XT. That may save a little weight, but the performance gain should be very noticeable.

Depending on how much you spend on the wheelset, you might still have something leftover for a carbon handlebar of your liking.