mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Replacement cranks

I have a Trek Stache 7. And because I am a noob, when attempting to remove the pedals and install clip-less I wrenched the left pedal the wrong way. Even with the help of the shop the pedal could not be removed. If I were to replace the cranks as a possible solution, is there a recommended upgrade or should I just replace the cranks set and/or crank arms with the same:Race Face Ride, 38/24 w/turbine outer ring?

mtbr member
    Hard to believe the pedal cannot be removed. Take the crank (or crank arm) off the bike, wrap a rag around it, put it in a vise and using a pedal wrench give it a few good whacks in the right direction. Should loosen, and you won't need to buy new cranks.

Unless you WANT new cranks...

What could go wrong ...
    can the shop get you a left crank arm
    I used to ride to Win ... Now I ride to Grin

While my guitar gently weeps, my bike sits there mocking me

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    The pedal bolt head was essentially stripped from trying to take if off, so the pedal wrench is retired at this point. Ended up trying a vise-grips (stripped bolt head) and a 6mm hex head (on the inside) at the same time and still wouldn't budge. Other options presented were a torch and/or drilling it out. Neither of which is available to me. Didn't request a left crank arm from the shop, so I could check that out.
    Last edited by Sweetwater Jones; 07-20-2013 at 04:45 PM. Reason: Vice to vise

mtbr member
    Remember that you'll have to buy replacement pedals too.

mtbr member
    Yep, if you stripped out the internal hex on the pedal it's easier just to replace the crank (or crank arm if it's that side) and pedals.

A.D.D. unleashed
    May 2007

Re: Replacement cranks

Cut pedal off with as much of the spindle as possible , weld long piece of scrap steel to remaining spindle put the arm in a vice and unscrew it

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

I Tried Them ALL... Moderator