mtbr member
    Sep 2012

Rear tire for loose riding in the desert

I just picked up a used '11 Mamba, it's my first Mountain bike. Most my riding is either singletrack or four-wheeler trails in the desert southwest - sandy, shaley, extremely loose, and/or loose over hardpack. I've found that I have alot of trouble on steep climbs losing traction on the back wheel in the loose stuff. I'm sure most of it is my pedaling technique, which will improve, but my rear tire is also to blame as its the crappy original bonty that came with the bike and the center lugs are almost gone. As a noob I'm not worried about speed, weight, or rolling resistance - just floatation and traction in loose and soft stuff, and maybe something that won't skid too easily when cornering and braking. I will be experimenting with getting my tire pressure as low as I can, but I will not be going tubeless anytime soon.

So who makes some good diggers?

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    I am going to say Hans Dampf, in the harder compound. Has everything I look for in a desert tire, except low cost. It's huge, has lots of knobs with no ramps, sidewall is tough.

Cheapest good tire would be a tioga psycho, run backwards. It's main drawback is that it's not truly high-volume. Real knobs that dig, which makes it noisy and "slow" feeling.

Rampage is pretty good, maybe I will try one backwards and it will probably climb better.

I bet a nevegal would be good, but I haven't gotten around to trying one.

Geax and specialized I have no idea. Gato?

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    I run a Geax Sagauro as my back tire and 90% of my of my riding in on dry, dusty, loose Southern California trails or desert riding in SW Utah. As a matter of fact, this tire was recommended to me by another board member here who lives at the foot of Gooseberry Mesa.