Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Quick Trek Xcal Tire Fit Question

New guy here. I've been riding my 2012 Trek Xcal 29er with 23" frame for a couple months and I'm officially addicted. I really want to switch to a grippier tubeless tire but I have a question about fit that I can't seem to find an answer for...Will I be able to fit a 2.25 or 2.35 tire on the front/rear?? Bike has a reba rl front fork and bontrager mustang tubeless ready rims. Currently running the stock bontrager 2.2 tires. I really want to give the Schwalbe Hans Dampf a shot but they are 2.35. If not, I might try the nobby nic's with snakeskin that are 2.25. Thanks for any help, I'd really like to get these babies ordered soon!
    New guy...2012 Trek Xcal 29er

Rub it............
    The front you should be able to fit a 2.35. The rear will be determined by the frame. And not all tires are measure the same, even though the sizing says so.

So go for a 2.35 up front and keep a 2.2 or smaller on the rear. Larger up front for grip, smaller in the back for quicker spin up (acceleration)

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Thanks...I've googled the hell out of this one and can't seem to find a definite answer. I'd hate to drop some major coinage only to have the tires not fit.

mtbr member
    According to this nobby nic 2.25 will fit the rear.

Tire to fit x-cal frame?

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Awesome find! Thanks!

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    I've got the new bontrager 29-4 tire that is a 2.3 and it fits nicely up front on my reba on my 11 x-cal. Really liking it so far....not light, but very confidence inspiring

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by ptkevin View Post
    I've got the new bontrager 29-4 tire that is a 2.3 and it fits nicely up front on my reba on my 11 x-cal. Really liking it so far....not light, but very confidence inspiring
    Cool, I'll check it out. What tire are you running on the rear?

mtbr member
    Feb 2012